When an activity is deleted then a chain of logical activities is broken. The Edit, Dissolve command and the right-click Dissolve command will delete an activity and joins the predecessors and successors with a Finish-to-Start relationship.
P6 Version 19 introduced the ability to retain lag when dissolving activities and this paper which is a extract from my P6 book explains how the P6 Retained Lag function operates, click on this link>>>.
The aim of this paper is to explain how the new P6 Retain Lag function operates.
When Retain Lag is selected from the User Preferences, Calculations tab, the dissolved activities predecessor and successor lags will be added together to calculate the lag in the new relationship. You will see that the predecessor and successor lags are added together.
By default, Retain Lag is not switched on and has to be activated by the user from the User Preferences, Calculations tab.
Accelerate your understanding of scheduling software to advance your scheduling career and be able to prepare better schedules with Eastwood Harris books, online videos available through Udemy and training material on:
Details at https://www.eh.com.au
Paul E Harris
Director Eastwood Harris Pty Ltd